Skip to main content

Report Student Absence - Safe Arrival

February 18, 2022 Announcement, School Activity
Report Student Absence - Safe Arrival

From Monday, September 13, 2021, Gordon Bell School started to apply Safe Arrival to students' absence management. Below is a letter sent home to parents on Friday, September 10, 2021. 

Dear Parents/Guardians,

At Winnipeg School Division, one of our greatest priorities is ensuring that all our students arrive safely at school each and every day.

To enhance our existing absence-checking procedure, we are introducing a new, more efficient student absence reporting system called SafeArrival. This new system will reduce the time it takes to verify student attendance, make it easy for you to report your child’s absence and easy for staff to respond to unexplained student absences.

With SafeArrival, you are asked to report your child’s absence in advance using any of these 3 convenient methods:

1. Using your mobile device, download and install the SchoolMessenger app from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store (or from the links at The first time you use the app, select Sign Up to create your account. Select Attendance then Report an Absence.

2. Use the SafeArrival website, The first time you use the website, select Sign Up to create your account. Select Attendance then Report an Absence.

3. Call the toll-free number 1-855-278-4513 to report an absence using the automated phone system.

These options are available 24 hours/day, 7 days a week. Future absences can be reported at any time.

Starting Monday, September 13, 2021, please report absences in advance using SafeArrival instead of sending notes or calling/emailing the school.

If you have children attending other schools, please continue to report absences using the existing procedures for those schools.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation as we implement this new system.

Schools using Safe Arrival/School Messenger

  • Andrew Mynarski V.C. School
  • Brock Corydon School
  • Carpathia School
  • Cecil Rhodes School
  • Champlain School
  • Churchill High School
  • College Churchill
  • Clifton School
  • Daniel McIntyre Collegiate
  • David Livingstone School
  • Dufferin School
  • Earl Grey School
  • Elmwood High School
  • Fort Rouge School
  • Faraday School
  • Garden Grove School
  • General Wolfe School
  • George V School
  • Gladstone School
  • Gordon Bell School
  • Grant Park High School
  • Greenway School
  • Hugh John MacDonald School
  • Inkster School
  • Isaac Brock School
  • Isaac Newton School
  • J.B. Mitchell School
  • Kelvin High School
  • Kent Road School
  • King Edward Community School
  • Laura Secord School
  • Lord Nelson School
  • Ecole Lansdowne
  • Ecole LaVerendrye
  • Lord Roberts School
  • Lord Selkirk School
  • Luxton School
  • Machray School
  • Meadows West School
  • Mulvey School
  • Niji Mahkwa School
  • Pinkham School
  • Prairie Rose School
  • Principal Sparling School
  • Queenston School
  • Ralph Brown School
  • Ecole River Heights
  • River Elm School
  • Riverview School
  • Robert H. Smith School
  • Robertson School
  • Rockwood School
  • St. John's High School
  • Sargent Park School
  • Shaughnessy Park School
  • Ecole Sir William Osler
  • Sister MacNamara School
  • Sisler High School
  • Stanley Knowles School
  • Strathcona School
  • Tec Voc High School
  • Victoria Albert School
  • Waterford Springs School
  • Wellington School
  • Weston School
  • William Whyte School
  • WSD Virtual School

Back to top