Skip to main content


June 24, 2024

About Winnipeg School Division

Winnipeg School Division is the largest and oldest school division in the Province of Manitoba. The division provides educational programs and services for more than 29,000 students from Nursery to Grade 12. The students in the division come from a variety of backgrounds and include a significant Indigenous and multi-ethnic population as well as a number of students with special needs.

The members of the School Board are proud of the scope and excellence of the programs and supports provided for the students in Winnipeg School Division. The cost of educating students in Winnipeg School Division in 2022/2023 was more than $435 million. While over half of this cost is funded by the provincial government, a large part of the cost is supported by the property taxpayers in the Division.

There are approximately 6,000 employees who work either on a full or part-time basis including instructional staff, clerks, educational assistants, custodians, tradespeople and administration. The division facilities consist of 78 schools, approximately 5,130,000 square feet of building space and approximately 300 acres of grounds. It is important to share these facts about the division with parents and residents to appreciate the complexity of operating a large public school system.

As leaders in education, our schools and our division take great pride in providing high quality and innovative programs and services for our students and their families. The Board of Trustees is proud of the programs and services offered to students in Winnipeg School Division and we are grateful of all the staff who make this possible.

The Board of Trustees believes that the education of children is a partnership between the home and the school community.

2024/2025 Regular/Special Board Meetings

In accordance with Procedural By-Law 1263, Regular meetings of the Board are to be held during the first and third weeks in the months during the school year at 7:00 p.m. Special meetings will be held only when required.

  • September 16, 2024
  • October 7, 2024
  • October 21, 2024
  • November 4, 2024
  • November 18, 2024
  • December 2, 2024
  • December 16, 2024
  • January 13, 2025
  • February 3, 2025
  • February 24, 2025 (Budget)
  • March 3, 2025
  • March 10, 2025 (if required)
  • March 17, 2025
  • April 14, 2025
  • May 5, 2025
  • June 2, 2025
  • June 16, 2025
  • June 23,2025 (if required)


The Winnipeg School Division Board of Trustees is established as a corporation under the terms of the Public Schools Act of Manitoba. The Board of Trustees is responsible for providing adequate school accommodation in the most enabling environment for the resident persons who have the right to attend school. As well as employing teachers and personnel that may be required by WSD, and prescribing their duties; and for determining the number, grade and description of schools to be established and maintained. The Board of Trustees is responsible for setting policy under which WSD operates and determining the level of the annual budget. The Board is comprised of nine trustees who are elected by the local residents. 

The decisions made by a school board at its meetings set the overall directions and policy for the school division. The school board employs administrators to see that this direction is implemented in an effective and efficient manner and for the day-to-day operation of the school division.

Trustees shall serve as the Board of Trustees of Winnipeg School Division and when acting as a Board, all of the powers, duties, and responsibilities as are set out in the Public Schools Act, its Regulations, and any other act of the Province of Manitoba applicable to the Boards of Trustees of school divisions.

A Guide to School Boards and Trusteeship in Manitoba has been developed by the Manitoba Schools Boards Association to assist in providing an overview on the role of trustees.


Effective in the 2014 Municipal Elections, the Winnipeg School Division has amended the existing boundaries from a three wards system, with each ward represented by three trustees, to a nine wards system with one trustee representative per ward.


Regular meetings of the Board are held during the first and third weeks at 7:00 p.m. and delegations are to be referred to present at the beginning of Regular meetings. 

Special meetings will only be held when required.


The annual indemnity ranges from $24,000 to $29,500 to assist with Board Business including attending meetings.



Winnipeg School Division Board of Trustees

Trustee%20Jamie%20Dumont.jpgJamie Dumont
Ward 1

Lois Brothers
Ward 2


Kathy Heppner
Vice Chair
Ward 3


Rebecca Chambers
Ward 4


Dante Aviso
Ward 5


Perla Javate
Ward 6


Tamara Kuly
Ward 7


Betty Edel
Ward 8


Ann Evangelista
Ward 9

Back to top